top of page
Writer's pictureRachel Wilpaint

Try ALDI's Transylvanian Hard Cheese This Halloween for a Scary-Good Treat

Halloween is almost here, and while I love holidays that cater to my sweet tooth, having some Halloween-themed foods other than candy is a must for relieving my taste buds and keeping up with the spooky spirit. Thus, I present my latest ALDI find and adventure in cheese tasting: ALDI Transylvanian Hard Cheese.



What initially drew me to this cheese first and foremost was presentation. Just look at that label; it's art! And while this cheese is undoubtedly Halloween-themed, its packaging presents a product not too gimmicky or cutesy, but more artisanal and serious. Even more so when compared to ALDI's colorful wax encased, kid-appealing seasonal cheeses that historically, I've not been impressed with. This simple cheese wedge, shrink wrapped in plastic, is topped with a dark, dramatic sticker that blends bats and cave formations with a castle lit by the light of a full moon. It's dramatic and fantastical without being gross, gruesome, or cutesy, something hard to do when it comes to Halloween-themed items. Minus all the lettering, the sticker alone would be a great fantasy wallpaper.


Other than its pretty packaging, my other selling point on this cheese was simply my love for trying out new cheeses, and thankfully ALDI makes it easy to be adventurous on a budget. I'd never tried a Romanian cheese, let alone one aged in a salt cave, so this wedge made it into my cart and onto my plate in no time. Time for another adventure in cheese tasting!


Out of the packaging, this firm, pale yellow cheese wedge has consistent coloring throughout. It has a slightly darker section/rind on the outer edge, and while labeled as a hard cows' milk cheese, the wedge is thin enough on the inner edge that I could break off my first taste without needing a cheese knife. The smell reminds me of a fresh wedge of Parmesan: sharp while hinting at salty, savory goodness. For best taste results, I allowed the wedge to sit at room temperature for about 30 minutes before digging in, and then began my journey through a Romanian cheese experience. Texture wise, this isn't the hardest cheese I've ever eaten, but still has a nice firmness, and a slight greasiness on the tongue that doesn't linger. While aging in a salt cave gave this cheese some salty notes, I wouldn't label this a salty cheese. The taste profile starts out milky with a slight sweetness, which turns into a nutty tang finish with some salt notes throughout. Savory and fine, I would love this cheese grated over pasta or salad, but more likely I'll be snacking on it slices at a time, or pairing it with crackers, prosciutto, grapes, or apple slices.


Halloween-themed or not, this is overall an excellent and incredibly delicious cheese, and a great ALDI find. While it's still in stock this spooky season, I'd welcome this cheese on any cheese board, and perhaps stock up past Halloween for future nights of delicious enjoyment. This cheese is scary-good, so get it before it's gone or you'll have to eagerly await for its return next year.

218 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page